Upcoming Events

2014-09-26: W Volleyball

2014-09-28: W Volleyball

2014-10-03: W Volleyball

2014-10-05: W Volleyball

2014-10-10: W Volleyball


McKee Tabbed MEAC Player of the Year

March 09, 2009

News Image
Tywain McKee was named the 2008-09 MEAC Player of the Year

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. -- Coppin State senior Tywain McKee was named the 2008-09 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Player of the Year on Monday at the MEAC awards banquet at the Benton Convention Center.
McKee becomes the fifth Coppin State player to earn the conference's top individual honor joining Larry Stewart (1989-90, 1990-91), Stephen Stewart (1993-94, 1994-95), Terquin Mott (1996-97) and Antoine Brockington (1997-98).
"It is an honor to receive this award from the conference," McKee said. "To join some of the greats in Coppin State history is very humbling. I couldn't have done this without my coaches and my teammates though, it really is a team award."
McKee, Coppin State's all-time leading scorer, led the conference in steals (2.9) and ranked second in scoring (18.2). He also ranked among the conference leaders in rebounding, assists, free throw percentage, three-point field goal percentage, three-point field goals made and assist to turnover ratio.
He was joined on the first team by Reggie Holmes of Morgan State, Michael Deloach of Norfolk State, Eugene Myatt of Howard and Jason Johnson of South Carolina State.
McKee was not the only CSU player to be recognized as freshman Michael Harper was named to the MEAC All-Rookie Team after finishing second on the team averaging 9.1 points per game and ranking second in the MEAC shooting 42.2 percent from beyond the three-point line.
Clifford Reed of Bethune-Cookman, Jimmy Williams of South Carolina State, Keishawn Mayes of Maryland Eastern Shore and Kevin Thompson of Morgan State were also named to the All-Rookie Team.
Coppin State, the defending MEAC Tournament champion, will face North Carolina A&T in a quarterfinal game on Thursday (March 12) at 8 p.m. in the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum.
First Team All-MEAC
Tywain McKee, Coppin State
Reggie Holmes, Morgan State
Michael Deloach, Norfolk State
Eugene Myatt, Howard
Jason Johnson, South Carolina State
Second Team All-MEAC
Clifford Reed, Bethune-Cookman
Vincent Simpson, Hampton
Jason Flagler, South Carolina State
Corey Lyons, Norfolk State
Neal Pitt, Maryland Eastern Shore
Marquise Kately, Morgan State
MEAC All-Rookie Team
Clifford Reed, Bethune-Cookman
Michael Harper, Coppin State
Jimmy Williams, South Carolina State
Keishawn Mayes, Maryland Eastern Shore
Kevin Thompson, Morgan State
Player of the Year: Tywain McKee, Coppin State
Defensive Player of the Year: Jason Johnson, South Carolina State
Rookie of the Year: Clifford Reed, Bethune-Cookman
Coach of the Year: Todd Bozeman, Morgan State

Physical Education Complex

Score Board

Women's Volleyball
@ Tulane
L 3-0 (25-11, 25-22, 25-15)

Women's Volleyball
@ Arizona
L 3-0 (25-13, 25-23, 25-18)

Women's Volleyball
W 3-2 (22-25, 25-23, 25-17, 18-25, 15-13)

Women's Volleyball
@ Eastern Michigan
L 3-0 (24-26, 22-25, 18-25)

Women's Volleyball
W 3-0 (25-23, 25-20, 25-21)

Women's Volleyball
@ American
L 3-0 (25-15, 25-13, 25-19)

Women's Volleyball
@ Towson
L 3-1 (25-16, 21-25, 25-18, 25-16)

Women's Volleyball
@ Saint Peter's
W 3-2 (25-27, 20-25, 25-19, 26-24, 15-11)

Women's Volleyball
@ La Salle
W 3-0 (25-18, 25-13, 25-16)

Women's Volleyball
@ La Salle
L 3-2

Ask The AD

Coppin State 100
Coppin State Softball Clinic


Ariel Richard moved into second place all time at Coppin State in career kills. Who owns the school record for career kills?

Fan Poll

The CSU volleyball team has been selected to finish fourth in the MEAC preseason poll. Where will the Eagles finish?